-eighteen-

Well, today is my 18th birthday and to say I have learned and experienced a lot is an understatement. I think the best quote I have come across, to sum up, my feelings about turning 18 and thinking about the future is this…

     “It’s the oldest story in the world. One day you’re seventeen and planning for someday, and then quietly, without you ever really noticing, someday is today, and that someday is yesterday and this is your life.”    -Nathan Scott (One Tree Hill)

Thinking about this quote I have come to realize that life doesn’t wait around for you. Time passes by in a whirlwind. Things change. People change. 18 years… 6,575 days… 157,823 hours..9,469,408 minutes…568,164,504 seconds… Where does our time go? Day by day time is slow, you sit in class staring at the clock and it seems as if time is at a stand still, yet here I am, 18 years has gone by yet it does not seem that way. This year marks a year of many changes to come. 18 will be a year of many chapters coming to a close. I will be graduating highschool, closing that chapter of my life. Although, with a chapter closing a new one is always beginning, in the fall I plan to attend college, however, I am undecided on where at the moment. This year many things will change, some will be good and refreshing and some will be bittersweet. With graduating I will be saying goodbye to many of the friends I have grown up with. I am excited to see what 18 has in store for me as I will get to experience many new things that come along with growing up and moving on.

I think this year is one of the first years that I really don’t know what to expect. I will be leaving the comfort that high school offers. I will be done with sports and will no longer be able to play competitively. I think this will be one of the biggest changes I will have to overcome. Other than that I am not really sure what to expect out of going off to college. I am excited to meet new people and get to experience many new opportunities that come with being in college, but I think when it happens it will be a big change that wasn’t expected. I guess basically as this chapter in my life comes to a close and the new one opens I am not sure where it’s going to lead. Chapter 18 is going to be filled with many twists and turns and hopefully many good things. So far the previous 17 chapters of my life have been good and I am looking forward to seeing what this year will have in store for me.

      “Today is the oldest you’ve ever been and the youngest you’ll ever be again.” -Eleanor Roosevelt 

 

ashley

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

